Skip to main content

Meeting of the Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee

Statement made on 11 September 2020

Statement UIN HCWS449


The Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee met on 10 September at Lancaster House, London. The meeting was chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Michael Gove, and the European Commission Vice President, Maroš Šefcovic, alongside the alternate co-chairs of the Committee, the Paymaster General, Penny Mordaunt, and Michel Barnier. Representatives from the Northern Ireland Executive and the EU 27 Member States also joined by videolink.

The Committee discussed the UK Internal Market Bill and the Northern Ireland Protocol. The UK made clear that the legislative timetable for the Bill would continue as planned and reiterated its commitment to implementing the Withdrawal Agreement, including the Northern Ireland Protocol, and the Decisions of the Joint Committee.

The UK Government also stressed its obligations to the people of Northern Ireland, its determination to uphold the constitutional status of Northern Ireland, and its responsibility to provide good governance for the whole United Kingdom. As co-guarantor, along with Ireland, of the Belfast (Good Friday) Agreement, the Government’s commitment to that agreement remains absolute.

The UK Government will continue to engage in Joint Committee discussions constructively, with the aim of finding a satisfactory outcome for both sides.

Statement from

Cabinet Office

Linked statements

This statement has also been made in the House of Lords

Cabinet Office
Meeting of the Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee
Lord True
Minister of State
Conservative, Life peer
Statement made 14 September 2020