Skip to main content

Manchester Arena Attack

Statement made on 22 October 2019

Statement UIN HCWS28


I am announcing today the establishment by the Home Office of an inquiry, under the Inquiries Act 2005, to investigate the deaths of, John Atkinson, Courtney Boyle, Kelly Brewster, Georgina Callander, Olivia Campbell-Hardy, Liam Curry, Wendy Fawell, Martyn Hett, Alison Howe, Megan Hurley, Nell Jones, Michelle Kiss, Angelika Klis, Marcin Klis, Sorrell Leczkowski, Lisa Lees, Eilidh MacLeod, Elaine Mclver, Saffie-Rose Roussos, Chloe Rutherford, Philip Tron and Jane Carolyn Tweddle in the horrific attack at Manchester Arena on 22 May 2017.

The Inquiry will be chaired by The Honourable Sir John Saunders.

Sir John Saunders is a retired High Court judge who was nominated by the Lord Chief Justice to lead the investigation and inquest into the deaths at Manchester Arena. In accordance with section 3(1) of the Act, this inquiry will be undertaken by Sir John alone as Chair.

I am establishing an inquiry after careful consideration of advice from Sir John that this is necessary to permit all relevant evidence to be heard. This is an important step in ensuring that the families of those who lost their lives in this terrible attack get the answers that they need.

The inquiry will have the same scope as the current inquest, which will be adjourned after the establishment of the inquiry.

I will place a copy of the Terms of Reference for the inquiry in the Libraries of both Houses.

The inquiry’s investigations will now be a matter for the Chair. As the sponsoring department the Home Office will provide support and ensure that the inquiry has the resources that it needs.

Statement from

Home Office

Linked statements

This statement has also been made in the House of Lords

Home Office
Manchester Arena Attack
Baroness Williams of Trafford
The Minister of State, Home Office
Conservative, Life peer
Statement made 22 October 2019