Skip to main content

Post-Council for Telecommunications Council

Statement made on 13 December 2018

Statement UIN HLWS1150


My Hon Friend the Minister of State for Digital and Creative Industries, Margot James, has made the following Statement:

The Telecommunications formation of the Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council took place in Brussels on 4 December 2018. The Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU, Katrina Williams, represented the UK.

The Council began with the formal adoption of legislative “A” points, during which the Council adopted the European Electronic Communications Code (EECC) and Body of European Regulators of Electronic Communications (BEREC) proposals. The Austrian Presidency then secured a partial General Approach on the Digital Europe programme, which the UK supported. A progress report and policy debate then took place on the European Cybersecurity Industrial, Technology and Research Competence Centre and the Network of National Coordination Centres proposal. Following this, a progress report and exchange of views took place on the ePrivacy Regulation

Afterwards, the Austrian Presidency provided information on the progress of current legislative proposals, namely: the recast Public Sector Information Directive; the .eu Top Level Domain Regulation; and the Cybersecurity Act. The Austrian Presidency also provided an update on the state of play of the Digital Single Market. The Council ended with a presentation from the incoming Romanian presidency on their work programme for the first half of 2019 and their priorities for the Digital Single Market. These were: innovation; cybersecurity; skills; and women in tech.