Skip to main content


Question for Home Office

UIN 51602, tabled on 20 September 2022

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, whether she has made an assessment of the potential merits of recognising (a) English, (b) Irish, (c) Scottish and (d) Welsh as distinct nationalities within nationalities and immigration legislation.

Answered on

23 September 2022

British citizenship is the nationality defined in the British Nationality Act 1981, held by those with a close connection to the UK. There are no plans to change this.

Although we do not distinguish between nationalities within the United Kingdom, we do recognise the rich and unique contribution the Welsh, Scots Gaelic, and Irish languages make to our United Kingdom. Currently, all applicants applying for citizenship are required to have passed the Life in the UK (LitUK) test and, while the Life in the UK Handbook is only available in English, the test can also be taken in Welsh or Scots Gaelic, which are the only other languages currently specified in statute as requirements for naturalisation.

We are assessing the potential merits of including recognition of regional languages more broadly in our immigration system and will provide our conclusion in due course.

Answered by

Home Office
Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.