Skip to main content

Commonwealth: Membership

Question for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office

UIN HL1332, tabled on 29 June 2022

To ask Her Majesty's Government whether membership of the Commonwealth is open to any country; and what is the eligibility criteria.

Answered on

13 July 2022

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 56 independent and equal countries. Membership is open to any country subject to meeting the criteria. The Membership criteria can be found here: The most recent countries to join were Togo and Gabon, who joined at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Kigali last month (June).