Skip to main content


Question for Department for Transport

UIN 19687, tabled on 16 June 2022

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, If he will list the (a) private, (b) municipal and (c) trust ports that are within the Freeport zones in England announced by the Government in March 2021.

Answered on

21 June 2022

There are 18 privately owned ports, 2 municipal ports, and 2 trust ports within Freeport zones. There is one port which is owned by the Ministry of Defence (MoD) but privately leased and operated. These numbers depend on how a port is classified – for the purposes of this answer, the publication Focus on Ports (2006 edition) has been used as guidance supplemented with updated information where status is known to have changed or new ports have opened. There are also 4 airports. A list by Freeport zone is below:

East Midlands

East Midlands Airport

Freeport East

Port of Felixstowe - Private

Port of Ipswich – Private

Port of Mistley – Private

Harwich Haven (includes Harwich International Port within the Harbour Authority area which is privately operated) – Trust

Humber Freeport

Port of Hull - Private

Port of Immingham - Private

Port of Goole - Private

Port of Grimsby - Private

Liverpool City Region Freeport

Port of Liverpool – Private

Port of Birkenhead - Private

Port Garston - Private

Port Weston - Private

Manchester Ship Canal (including Port Salford) - Private

Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Plymouth and South Devon Freeport

ABP Millbay Docks - Private

Sutton Harbour - Private

Port of Plymouth – Municipal

Cattewater Harbour – Trust

Solent Freeport

Port of Southampton (includes DP World Southampton terminal) – Private

Solent Gateway/Port of Marchwood – MoD owned but privately leased

Portsmouth International Port – Municipal

Southampton Airport

Teesside Freeport

Teesport and Hartlepool (includes Redcar Bulk Terminal, Port of Middlesbrough, and Port of Hartlepool) – Private

Teesside International Airport

Thames Freeport

London Gateway - Private

Port of Tilbury (including Tilbury2) - Private

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.