Skip to main content

F-35 Aircraft

Question for Ministry of Defence

UIN HL691, tabled on 6 June 2022

To ask Her Majesty's Government whether they still plan to form four F-35B squadrons; and if so, how many of those will have Royal Air Force squadron designation and how many will have Royal Navy squadron designation.

Answered on

20 June 2022

The Lightning Force will be formed of five Squadrons, jointly crewed by Royal Navy and RAF personnel. Three Squadrons have been designated RAF (617 (The Dambusters) Sqn, 207 Sqn (Operational Conversion Unit, and 17 Sqn (Test & Evaluation)), and one Royal Navy (809 Naval Air Sqn). The final one has yet to be considered for a Squadron designation.