Skip to main content

Local Government

Question for Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

UIN HL3457, tabled on 26 October 2021

To ask Her Majesty's Government which new parish and town councils were established as a result of a community governance review for each year between 2010–11 and 2020–21.

Answered on

9 November 2021

The community governance review process enables a principal council to carry out a review of the local arrangements in its area and make changes, which could include the abolition or restructuring of local parish councils. The Government encourages all communities wishing to establish a parish council to petition their local authority to that effect, regardless of where they live.

This is the information we hold on new parish councils created each year between 2016-2017 to 2020-2021 as a result of a community governance review. Records of new parishes created through a community governance review prior to 2016 are not held in this format.

  • 2016-17: Sherfield Park Parish Council; Norton and Cuckney Parish Council; Royal Sutton Coldfield Town Council; Bingley Town Council; Finham Parish Council; Hathersage Parish Council; Asterby, Goulceby and Ranby Parish Council; Pannal with Burn Bridge Parish Council; East Hunsbury Parish Council; Exton and Horn Parish Council; Aston Tirrold and Aston Upthorpe Parish Council.
  • 2017-18: South Trumpington Parish Meeting; Macclesfield Town Council; West Hill Parish Council; Batchworth Parish Council; Aldcliffe-with-Stodday Parish Council; Lowestoft Town Council; Oulton Broad Parish Council; Central Swindon North Parish Council; South Swindon Parish Council; West Swindon Parish Council; St Andrews Parish Council; Blunsdon Parish Council; Nythe, Eldene and Liden Parish Council.
  • 2018-19: N/A
  • 2019-20: Oulton Parish Council; Heybridge Basin Parish Council; Shipley Town Council.
  • 2020 – 21: North Boyatt Wood Parish Council; Northstowe Town Council.