Skip to main content

Nuclear Power Stations

Question for Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

UIN HL384, tabled on 18 May 2021

To ask Her Majesty's Government how many of the current nuclear plants they expect to be operating in 2030.

Answered on

2 June 2021

There are currently 15 nuclear reactors operating at 8 stations across England and Scotland, all operated by EDF. On the basis of current scheduled closure dates, all 14 of the advanced gas cooled reactors (AGR) will close between 2022 and 2030. Of the current generating fleet, only Sizewell B power station with its pressurised water reactor (PWR) is expected to continue generation past 2030. The developer of Hinkley Point C is forecasting that it will also be generating before 2030.