Skip to main content

Latin America: Sanctions

Question for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office

UIN HL13312, tabled on 11 February 2021

To ask Her Majesty's Government how many, and which, countries in Latin America are subject to UK sanctions; and how such sanctions and any possible infringements are monitored, in particular in any country where there is no UK Embassy.

Answered on

25 February 2021

Currently there are 42 individuals designated under the UK's Nicaragua and Venezuela sanctions regimes, as well as three Venezuelan nationals designated under the Global Human Rights regime. These individuals are subject to asset freezes and travel bans. The Venezuela sanctions regime also includes trade restrictions on specified goods and technology, such as military goods (e.g. arms) or goods and technology which may be used to repress the civilian population of Venezuela or to intercept and monitor communications. Under UK autonomous regimes, travel ban measures apply solely in the UK, and financial sanctions are only binding on UK nationals, UK registered companies and their subsidiaries.

Various HMG departments and offices hold responsibility for monitoring sanctions compliance and enforcing action against non-compliance, and individuals and companies themselves can also report information on suspected breaches to the relevant enforcement bodies. The Office for Financial Sanctions Implementation (OFSI) takes civil action for breaches of financial sanctions, and can work with the National Crime Agency (NCA) if criminal action is appropriate. The Home Office implement and enforce travel bans.