Skip to main content

Private Rented Housing: Licensing

Question for Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

UIN 134234, tabled on 6 January 2021

To ask the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, how many local authorities have selective licensing schemes covering more than 20 per cent of (a) their area or (b) the number of private rented homes in their area; which local authorities they are; and when those licences were granted.

Answered on

15 January 2021

Selective licensing was introduced under Part 3 of the Housing Act 2004 which came into force in 2006. Since 2015, new or renewed schemes which cover more than 20 per cent of a local authority’s private rented stock or geographical area require approval from the Secretary of State.

Eleven schemes in ten local authorities have been approved. These are:


Waltham Forest,
Burnley, and
Barking and Dagenham.

The Independent Review of the Use and Effectiveness of Selective Licensing commissioned by the Department considered the effects of select licensing. The review is available here:

Answered by

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government