To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, whether individuals who download the covid-19 contact tracing app will be able to delete their data after it has been uploaded to the central database.
18 May 2020
App users can delete the National Health Service COVID-19 app whenever they want. If users delete the app, all data stored on the phone and not already shared with the NHS would be deleted. If users do not opt to share their data, it will automatically be deleted on a continuous 28-day cycle within the app, on the phone.
If users choose to share their information with the Department and the NHS, it will remain under the control of the Department and the NHS throughout. Companies working with the NHS are bound by robust contract and data processing agreements that specify how and when the data must be stored, secured, used and destroyed.