Skip to main content

Hereditary Peers: By-elections

Question for The Senior Deputy Speaker

UIN HL2682, tabled on 17 March 2020

To ask the Senior Deputy Speaker which peers would form the electorate in hereditary peer by-elections taking place under the terms of the House of Lords Act 1999 for a (1) Conservative, (2) Crossbench, (3) Labour, and (4) Liberal Democrat, vacancy.

Answered on

24 March 2020

The following members, minus whichever member had created the vacancy, would be the electorate for a hereditary peer by-election for a vacancy in each party or group.

In the event of a by-election to replace a Conservative hereditary peer, the electorate would be:

The Earl of Arran

Lord Ashton of Hyde

Lord Astor of Hever

Viscount Astor

Earl Attlee

Lord Bethell

Lord Borwick

Lord Brabazon of Tara

Viscount Bridgeman

Lord Brougham and Vaux

The Earl of Caithness

Earl Cathcart

Lord Colgrain

Lord Colwyn

The Earl of Courtown

Lord Crathorne

Lord De Mauley

Lord Denham

The Earl of Dundee

Viscount Eccles

Lord Elton

Lord Fairfax of Cameron

Lord Geddes

Lord Glenarthur

Viscount Goschen

Lord Henley

The Earl of Home

Earl Howe

The Earl of Lindsay

The Earl of Liverpool

Lord Lucas

Lord Mancroft

The Duke of Montrose

Lord Moynihan

Lord Northbrook

Lord Reay

Viscount Ridley

Lord Rotherwick

Lord Selsdon

The Earl of Shrewsbury

Lord Strathclyde

Lord Swinfen

Lord Trefgarne

Viscount Trenchard

Viscount Ullswater

Viscount Younger of Leckie

In the event of a by-election to replace a crossbench hereditary peer, the electorate would be:

Lord Aberdare

Viscount Brookeborough

Lord Carrington

The Earl of Clancarty

Viscount Colville of Culross

The Earl of Cork and Orrery

Viscount Craigavon

Lord Cromwell

The Earl of Devon

The Earl of Erroll

Viscount Falkland

Lord Freyberg

Lord Greenway

Lord Hylton

The Earl of Listowel

The Earl of Lytton

The Countess of Mar

Lord Mountevans

Lord Palmer

Earl Peel

Lord Ravensdale

The Earl of Rosslyn

Lord Russell of Liverpool

The Earl of Sandwich

The Duke of Somerset

Lord St John of Bletso

The Earl of Stair

Lord Thurlow

Lord Trevethin and Oaksey

Lord Vaux of Harrowden

Viscount Waverley

In the event of a by-election to replace a Labour hereditary peer, the electorate would be:

Lord Grantchester

Viscount Hanworth

Lord Rea

Viscount Simon

In the event of a by-election to replace a Liberal Democrat hereditary peer, the electorate would be:

Lord Addington

The Earl of Glasgow

Viscount Thurso

There are some members sitting in the House as excepted hereditary peers who have changed their party or group affiliation. If a vacancy were created by one of those members leaving the House, the seat in the House would revert back to the previous party or group. However, while those members are not sitting in their original party or group, they do not form part of the electorate for any hereditary peer by-elections that may arise in those groupings.