Skip to main content

Technology: International Cooperation

Question for Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

UIN 20488, tabled on 25 February 2020

To ask the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, what criteria are used to identify locations for his Department's International Tech Hubs.

Answered on

2 March 2020

The Department for Digital Culture Media and Sport’s International Tech Hub Network comprises Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Indonesia, Brazil, India and Israel.

The purpose of the Hubs is to forge innovation partnerships between local tech sectors and UK and international businesses, stimulate local digital economies and build high-end digital skills.

The Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Indonesia, Brazil and India Hubs are supported by the Prosperity Fund which focuses on middle income countries to promote inclusive economic growth, for example to improve key infrastructure, skills, access to finance and to build better business environments. These locations were selected based on potential to promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth whilst increasing opportunities for international business partnerships that increase mutual prosperity. They offer the opportunity to pilot innovative digital inclusion solutions at scale, due to their level of overall economic and institutional development combined with the significant presence of digitally excluded or underserved populations.

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.