Skip to main content

British Overseas Territories: Civil Partnerships

Question for Foreign and Commonwealth Office

UIN 14718, tabled on 10 February 2020

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, which Overseas Territories have introduced legislation to allow civil partnerships.

Answered on

13 February 2020

Nine Overseas Territories have legal recognition and protection for same-sex relationships. Same-sex marriage is legal in the Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Bermuda, Pitcairn Islands and St Helena, Ascension Island, and Tristan da Cunha. The Premier of the Cayman Islands has publicly undertaken to bring in domestic partnerships by early this year. The laws in the uninhabited territories of the British Indian Ocean Territory, British Antarctic Territory and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands also allow for same-sex marriage.

In the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, civil partnerships have been allowed for United Kingdom military and civilian personnel.