Skip to main content

Department for Transport: Legal Costs

Question for Department for Transport

UIN 223918, tabled on 20 February 2019

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, with reference to the Answer of 23 November 2015 to Question 16832, what hourly rate has been agreed by his Department for each of the barristers that have carried out other HS2 work since 2010 as detailed in that answer; and if he will list those barristers against their hourly rate.

Answered on

25 February 2019

The Department has instructed a number of barristers in relation to HS2 work since 2010. They include James Eadie QC, Tim Mould QC, James Strachan QC, Justine Thornton QC, Philip Moser QC, Karen Steyn QC, Jemima Stratford QC, James Maurici QC, Lisa Busch (now QC), Andrew Sharland (now QC), Julian Milford, Richard Wald, John Joliffe, Jacqueline Lean, Richard Turney, Mark Westmoreland-Smith and Clare Parry. Each barrister has been remunerated at government hourly rates agreed with the Attorney General; in the case of junior counsel at the prevailing London panel counsel rates and for nominated Queen’s Counsel at the rates found here:

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.