Skip to main content

EU External Trade: Trade Agreements

Question for Department for International Trade

UIN HL12205, tabled on 11 December 2018

To ask Her Majesty's Government which nations that have trade agreements with the EU have (1) agreed, and (2) refused to allow the UK to continue to benefit from those agreements during the implementation period.

Answered on

19 December 2018

Discussions with all partner countries have demonstrated a commitment to finding a pragmatic way to ensure continuity of our existing international agreements.

Alongside the Withdrawal Agreement, the EU agreed to notify its treaty partners that the UK is to be treated as a Member State for the purposes of EU international agreements during the IP. This includes trade agreements.

A number (including Canada, Chile, Israel, Switzerland, and groupings such as the Southern African Customs Union and Eastern and Southern Africa EPA States) have already publicly welcomed this approach (Library deposit of 13 September DEP2018-0926 provides a list of countries). Others are, understandably, waiting for the notification to be issued before responding formally. We are working closely with our trading partners to ensure that there would be no disruption to trade as we move into the Implementation Period.

Notwithstanding our expectation that there will be an Implementation Period, the government will continue to do the responsible thing and prepare for all eventualities with partner countries, including a ‘no deal’ scenario.