Skip to main content


Question for Department for Education

UIN 180149, tabled on 16 October 2018

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how many examining boards are using the (a) A* to E and (b) numeral grading system.

Answered on

24 October 2018

There are four exam boards that offer GCSEs and A levels in England and Wales: AQA, Pearson, OCR, and WJEC. In Northern Ireland, GCSEs and A levels are also offered by the Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA).

Exam boards in England, Wales and Northern Ireland all use the A*-E grading scale for A level qualifications.

For GCSE qualifications, the grade scale varies across the three countries. In England, the four exam boards are all using the 9-1 grading scale for reformed GCSEs as they are rolled out. Most GCSEs in Wales and Northern Ireland use an A*-G grading scale. A full explanation is available at: