Skip to main content

Russia: Sanctions

Question for Foreign and Commonwealth Office

UIN 173536, tabled on 11 September 2018

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, whether the list of people sanctioned under the (a) Criminal Finances Act 2017 and (b) Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018 will include (i) Aleksey Vasilyevich Anichin, former Deputy Interior Minister, (ii) Alexander Ivanovich Bastrykin, former First Deputy Prosecutor General, (iii) Aleksey Droganov, Interior Ministry employee, (iv) Alexandra Viktorovna Gaus, prison doctor, (v) Stanislav Evgenievich Gordievsky, official, investigative committee, Interior Ministry, (vi) Victor Yakovlevich Grin, Deputy Prosecutor General, (vii) Pavel Karpov, investigator, Interior Ministry, (viii) Yelena Khimina, tax official, (ix) Vyacheslav Georgievich Khlebnikov, businessman, (x) Dmitry Vladislavovich Klyuev, owner, Universal Savings Bank, (xi) Dmitriy Komnov, head of the Butyrka Detention Centre, (xii) Dmitry Borisovch Kratov, former deputy head, Butyrka prison, (xiii) Andrei Alexandrovich Krechetov, investigator, Interior Ministry, (xiv) Aleksey Krivoruchko, judge, (xv) Artem Kuznetsov, officer, Interior Ministry, (xvi) Larisa Antolievna Litvinova, prison doctor, (xvii) Oleg Logunov, deputy head, Interior Ministry investigation committee, (xviii) Viktor Aleksandrovich Marklov, businessman, (xix) Andrey Pechegin, official responsible for oversight, Interior Ministry, (xx) Gennady Nikolaevich Plaksin, businessman, (xxi) Sergei Podoprigorov, judge, (xxii) Ivan Pavlovitch Prokopenko, prison officer, (xxiii) Oleg Silchenko, officer, Interior Ministry, (xxiv) Yelena Stashina, judge, (xxv) Vladlen Yurievich Stepanov, company director, (xxvi) Olga Stepanova, head of Moscow tax office No. 28, (xxvii) Fikret Tagiyev, head of the Matrosskaya Tishina Detention Centre, (xxviii) Dmitri Tolchinskiy, employee, Interior Ministry, (xxix) Svetlana Ukhnalyova, judge and (xxx) Natalya Vinogradova, officer, Interior Ministry.

Answered on

19 September 2018

The UK currently implements sanctions through the EU and will continue to do so until we leave. Although not yet commenced, the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018 will allow us to take a range of actions against those suspected of gross human rights violations, which include (but are not limited to) asset-freezes and travel bans.

We are currently in the process of establishing procedures and frameworks to adopt sanctions under the Act. While it is too early to make decisions about specific individual listings, the Prime Minister has made it clear that we are looking to carry over all EU sanctions in force at the time of our departure from the EU.

The names of individuals sanctioned by the UK under the Act, including those sanctioned because of gross human rights violations, will be published on the appropriate government website.