Skip to main content

Ministry of Defence Police

Question for Ministry of Defence

UIN 170656, tabled on 5 September 2018

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, what the establishment and command structure by rank of the Ministry of Defence Police is; and at what locations they are deployed.

Answered on

10 September 2018

As at 31 August 2018, the complement of the Ministry of Defence Police (MDP) was 2,800 deployed at 53 locations across the UK and Northern Ireland, the details of which I am withholding on grounds of safeguarding national security. The MDP's senior Command Structure is comprised of the Chief Constable, Deputy Chief Constable, Senior Civil Service 1star and two Assistant Chief Constables. These officers are located at the force HQ, Wethersfield, Essex.

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.