Skip to main content

British Overseas Territories

Question for Foreign and Commonwealth Office

UIN 149890, tabled on 5 June 2018

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, which countries the Overseas Territories Directorate in his Department is responsible for.

Answered on

11 June 2018

The Overseas Territories Directorate is responsible for the following British Overseas Territories:



British Antarctic Territory

British Indian Ocean Territory

Cayman Islands

Falkland Islands


Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno

St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

South Georgia and the South Sandwich islands (SGSSI)

Turks and Caicos Islands

Virgin Islands (commonly known as British Virgin Islands)

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.