Skip to main content

Health Services: Sussex

Question for Department of Health and Social Care

UIN 137383, tabled on 24 April 2018

To ask the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, how many NHS trusts and healthcare organisations there are in (a) East Sussex, (b) West Sussex and (c) Sussex; and what the respective tasks are of those trusts and organisations.

Answered on

27 April 2018

The information requested is as follows:

There are four NHS clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) and two acute National Health Service trusts that serve the populations of East Sussex.

The four CCGs are as follows:

- Brighton and Hove Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG);

- NHS Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford CCG;

- NHS Hastings and Rother CCG; and

- High Weald Lewes and Havens CCG.

CCGs are responsible for making sure that the people they serve have access to the healthcare services they need. They do this by commissioning (buying) health services from healthcare providers. Together with their partners they make sure that resources are used efficiently and effectively to deliver the best possible health outcomes for their population.

The two Acute NHS trusts are as follows:

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust is an acute teaching hospital working across two main sites.

It provides district general hospital services to its local populations in and around the Brighton and Hove, Mid Sussex and the western part of East Sussex and more specialised and tertiary services for patients across Sussex and the south east of England.

East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust provides acute hospital and community health services for people living in East Sussex and surrounding areas.

The Trust offers a comprehensive range of surgical, medical and maternity services supported by a full range of diagnostic and therapy services.

There are three NHS CCGs and three acute NHS trusts that serve the populations of West Sussex.

The three CCGs are as follows:

- NHS Coastal West Sussex CCG;

- Crawley CCG; and

- Horsham and Mid Sussex CCG.

The three acute NHS trusts are as follows:

Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust (QVH) has links with the operational delivery network for cancer and trauma care covering Kent, Surrey, and Sussex. In addition, QVH is involved in a number of multidisciplinary teams throughout the region.

Queen Victoria Hospital is a regional and national centre for maxillofacial, reconstructive plastic and corneoplastic surgery, as well as for the treatment of burns. It is a surgical centre for skin cancer and for head and neck cancer and provides microvascular reconstruction services for breast cancer patients following, or in association with, mastectomy.

Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust is an acute trust formed on 1 April 1998, as a result of a merger between the East Surrey Healthcare NHS Trust and Crawley Horsham NHS Trust. It provides healthcare services to a growing population of around 535,000. The Trust has extensive, modern facilities including Magnetic Resonance Imagining and Computerised Tomography scanners, intensive and coronary care units and is the designated major incident centre for Gatwick Airport.

Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust serves a population of around 450,000 people across a catchment area covering most of West Sussex.

The Trust became an NHS Foundation Trust on 1 July 2013, just over four years after the organisation was created by a merger of the Royal West Sussex and Worthing and Southlands Hospitals NHS Trusts.

One community NHS trust, two Mental Health NHS foundation trusts and one ambulance NHS foundation trust serve the populations of both East and West Sussex.

Sussex Community NHS Trust is the main provider of community NHS health and care across West Sussex, Brighton and Hove and High Weald Lewes Havens area of East Sussex

It provides community rehabilitation and support for people with complex health needs and long-term conditions or people needing end of life care.

It also provides:

- Intermediate care, offering short term recovery and rehabilitation;

- Health promotion, supporting people to improve health and wellbeing; and

- Coordinated and flexible service for families and children.

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust provides NHS care and treatment for children, young people and adults of all ages living in south east England. Its mental health services provide care and treatment for people with conditions such as psychosis, depression, anxiety, dementia and personality disorder. Its specialist learning disability services provide community and inpatient care for people with complex health needs which can’t be met by other services.

The Trust provides care in people’s homes, in specialist clinics, hospitals, general practitioner surgeries and prisons.

Similarly, a single NHS Ambulance NHS Foundation Trust serves the populations of both East and West Sussex.

Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust is the leading provider of health and social care services for people of all ages with mental ill-health and learning disabilities in Surrey and North East Hampshire and drug and alcohol services in Surrey, Hounslow and Brighton.

The Trust’s core purpose is to work with people and lead communities in improving their mental and physical health and wellbeing for a better life; through delivering excellent and responsive prevention, diagnosis, early intervention, treatment and care.

South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust responds to 999 calls from the public, urgent calls from healthcare professionals and provide NHS 111 services across the region.

The Trust covers a geographical area of 3,600 square miles (Brighton and Hove, East Sussex, West Sussex, Kent, Surrey, and North East Hampshire).

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.