Skip to main content

Military Decorations

Question for Ministry of Defence

UIN HL4126, tabled on 12 December 2017

To ask Her Majesty's Government, further to the Written Answers by Earl Howe on 30 November (HL3468) and 12 December (HL3864), what were the differences in the eligibility criteria for (1) former Heads of Service, and (2) honorary five-star officers, for the award of Long Service and Good Conduct Medals on 29 July 2014.

Answered on

19 December 2017

Former Heads of Service who retired at a four-star rank before 29 July 2014, are ineligible to receive the Long Service and Good Conduct Medal under the criteria laid down in the regulations which state that all officers of the Regular Forces who were serving on or after 29 July 2014 are eligible for award of the medal or clasp.

Those who are subsequently appointed to honorary five-star by Her Majesty become eligible, along with those who retired at that rank.