Skip to main content

International Climate Fund

Question for Department for International Development

UIN HL3928, tabled on 6 December 2017

To ask Her Majesty's Government which countries received funds from the International Climate Fund in 2017.

Answered on

19 December 2017

UK International Climate Finance (ICF) helps countries build resilience to the effects of climate change, reduces global greenhouse gas emissions, and supports sustainable management of natural resources, such as forests.

The latest year for which data on UK ICF spend has been published is 2016/17. In that financial year the following countries and UK overseas territories directly received UK ICF:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Brazil, Cameroon, Congo, Caribbean, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mexico, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, St Helena, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

In 2016-17 UK ICF also financed regional and multi-country programmes and contributed to three multilateral climate funds, the Green Climate Fund (GCF), the Climate Investment Funds (CIFs) and the Global Environment Facility (GEF).