Skip to main content

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Question for Department of Health

UIN HL2530, tabled on 25 October 2017

To ask Her Majesty's Government how many specialist services are available in England for the diagnosis and treatment of chronic fatigue syndrome/myalgic encephalomyelitis.

Answered on

7 November 2017

This data is not available.

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) are responsible for commissioning many healthcare services to meet the needs and requirements of their local population including those for people with chronic fatigue syndrome/myalgic encephalomyelitis (CFS/ME). In doing so, CCGs commission services that reflect the needs of local people and that support improvements in health and healthcare outcomes.

The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guidance advises that any decision to refer a person to specialist CFS/ME care should be based on their needs, the type, duration, complexity and severity of their symptoms, and the presence of comorbidities. The decision should be made jointly by the person with CFS/ME and the healthcare professional. Referral to a specialist should be offered within six months of presentation to people with mild CFS/ME, within three to four months of presentation to people with moderate CFS/ME symptoms and immediately to people with severe CFS/ME symptoms.