Skip to main content

Combined Authorities

Question for Department for Communities and Local Government

UIN HL1777, tabled on 9 October 2017

To ask Her Majesty's Government how many proposals to establish a combined authority have been (1) received, (2) approved, and (3) rejected, since 8 May 2015.

Answered on

18 October 2017

Since 8 May 2015, the Secretary of State has received 10 proposals to establish a combined authority. He has not rejected any proposal and has, with the approval of Parliament, established four new combined authorities - in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, Tees Valley, the West Midlands, and the West of England. In the case of the other 6 proposals, these have either been withdrawn by the area or decisions on them, either by the Secretary of State or the area, remain outstanding.