Skip to main content

Sixth Form Colleges: Closures

Question for Department for Education

UIN 3642, tabled on 7 July 2017

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how many and which sixth form colleges have closed in England since 2010.

Answered on

20 July 2017

Eleven sixth form colleges have dissolved in England since 2010. In all cases the sixth form colleges were merged or converted to become an Academy, that is to say their assets, rights and liabilities were transferred to another education provider.The colleges are:

Sixth Form College

Date of Dissolution

New College, Pontefract

June 2017

Priestley College

May 2017

Strodes College

May 2017

Rochdale Sixth Form College

April 2017

Hereford Sixth Form College

March 2017

Barrow in Furness Sixth Form College

July 2016

Prior Pursglove Sixth Form College

May 2016

Stockton Sixth Form College

May 2016

Totton College

November 2017

Ludlow College

July 2013

St Mary’s Roman Catholic Sixth Form College

July 2011

Named day
Named day questions only occur in the House of Commons. The MP tabling the question specifies the date on which they should receive an answer. MPs may not table more than five named day questions on a single day.