Skip to main content

Astute Class Submarines

Question for Ministry of Defence

UIN HL4094, tabled on 13 December 2016

To ask Her Majesty’s Government what steps they have taken to assess whether an 8th Astute class submarine could be built prior to the first successor submarine being named.

Answered on

19 December 2016

The Strategic Defence and Security Review 2015 reaffirmed the Government's plans for seven Astute Class submarines and four ballistic missile submarines, of which the first of class has been named Dreadnought.