Skip to main content

North Korea: Diplomatic Relations

Question for Foreign and Commonwealth Office

UIN HL691, tabled on 22 June 2015

To ask Her Majesty’s Government to what extent the British Ambassador to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is allowed to travel freely within that country.

Answered on

29 June 2015

The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) permits travel by diplomatic missions and international organisations, including our Embassy, to the following areas of the country: Pyongyang; Sinanju; Wonsan; Mount Kumgang; Sariwon; Songrim; Kwail County; and Haeju. Any diplomatic mission or international organisation wishing to undertake travel is required to notify the DPRK’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs beforehand.