Skip to main content

Diabetes: Health Services

Question for Department of Health

UIN 828, tabled on 2 June 2015

To ask the Secretary of State for Health, in which of the seven demonstrator sites the NHS National Diabetes Prevention Programme began operating.

Answered on

10 June 2015

The diabetes prevention programme announced seven demonstrator sites on 12 March 2015:

- Birmingham South and Central Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)

- Bradford City CCG

- Durham County Council

- Herefordshire CCG/Local Authority (LA)

- Medway CCG/LA

- Salford CCG/LA

- Southwark Council and CCG

The demonstrator sites were specifically chosen with different levels of service provision to provide important learning in establishing the National Diabetes Prevention Programme. Six demonstrator sites have existing type 2 diabetes prevention services.

The programme is currently working with the demonstrator sites to jointly develop plans to amend and scale up their services. This will inform the development of the programme.