Skip to main content

Entry Clearances: Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland

Question for Home Office

UIN HL1841, tabled on 8 September 2014

To ask Her Majesty’s Government, further to the Written Answer by Lord Taylor of Holbeach on 11 August (HL1352), whether the citizens of the countries referred to in the answer could enter the Republic of Ireland and then enter the United Kingdom without a visa by entering Northern Ireland.

Answered on

22 September 2014

Citizens of Bolivia, Fiji, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, South Africa, Swaziland and Taiwan travelling to Northern Ireland, or any part of the UK, from the Republic of Ireland, require a UK visa.

In recognition of the land border between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, intelligence led operations are conducted to target potential abuse and identify those not in possession of the appropriate UK entry clearance.

Answered by

Home Office