Skip to main content

Nuclear Power Stations

Question for Department for Energy and Climate Change

UIN HL297, tabled on 12 June 2014

To ask Her Majesty's Government what nuclear power stations there are in the United Kingdom; which of those are being decommissioned; what has been the cost to date of each station; and what is the estimated cost of completion of the decommissioning process.

Answered on

24 June 2014

The current and former nuclear power stations designated to NDA are Berkeley, Bradwell, Calder Hall, Chapelcross, Dungeness A, Hinkley Point A, Hunterston A, Oldbury, Sizewell A, Trawsfynydd and Wylfa.

All are being decommissioned with the exception of Wylfa which continues to generate.

The costs of each station since their respective generation end dates, and during the period in which they have been in NDA ownership (since 1 April 2005) have been:

Berkeley £400 million

Bradwell £590 million

Calder Hall £265 million

Chapelcross £490 million

Dungeness A £285 million

Hinkley Point A £370 million

Hunterston A £345 million

Oldbury £72 million

Sizewell A £280 million

Trawsfynydd £540 million

The estimated cost of completion (the remaining lifetime cost) for all of the sites named is £16.5 billion.

EDF / British Energy stations are: Hunterston B, Hinkley Point B, Hartlepool, Heysham 1, Dungeness B, Heysham 2, Torness, Sizewell B.

Answered by

Department for Energy and Climate Change